Tipping II

This will be a short conclusion to the post I started yesterday.

Last February, my wife and I went to an all-inclusive resort in Dominican Republic.  All food and drinks were included in the hotel price.  Considering most of our time was either spent on the beach or by the pool, it was very convenient to not have to carry around singles for tips.  Except that… we did.  I think Americans at this resort continued their tipping ways, and the servers have come to expect them.  Maybe I didn’t have to tip since I’m sure there were Europeans here that didn’t, but I felt that I had to, if anything just out of habit.  I just wasn’t sure how the servers would feel if I didn’t tip, so I erred on the side of tipping.

I’m used to tipping, and I don’t mind the additional cost.  But I can’t help but feel that if I left a bad tip to a waitress oblivious to her bad serving ways, she would just think I’m a cheap Asian person.

My ultimate point is this: mandatory gratuities are unnecessary, and the tipping culture confuses even Americans who do not stay in hotels or ride limos on a regular basis.  And if a service I receive at a restaurant is bad enough to warrant a 10% tip, I would rather talk to the manager than leave just 10%.

Diet Update: 179 yesterday, 181 today.  Not doing much about this so maybe this is pointless.

Smoking Update: Day 3 today.  58 hours and counting…

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Tipping II”

  1. Marty Says:

    Conclusion: Marty should have spoken to the manager?

Leave a comment