Spreading the News

I can’t believe it has only been four days since we officially found out about the pregnancy.  And it has been hard to not tell everyone.  I’ve read many online articles and it seems that although some tell everyone as soon as they find out, others wait to tell until the end of the first trimester, when the riskiest period for miscarriage is over.  We’ve been doing a combination of both, a slow and controlled release of the information.

Well, I’m trying to make it sound like a grand scale public relations campaign, but the truth is we are telling our family right away, and our friends later.  She is now about 8 weeks into her pregnancy, so we told my family and her family.  and about 4 weeks later, when she will almost be done with her first trimester, we’ll let everyone else know, like friends and co-workers.  But since her siblings and my siblings are all on Facebook, we have to tell them not to mention it on our Facebook pages – I guess that’s where the control comes in.

It will be tough not telling friends for another four weeks.  But we want to play it safe, and not get too excited.

Tags:

Leave a comment