Babysitting

I spent the past two nights babysitting my nephew after work.  Because of him, I’ve been leaving work at 5pm instead of the usual 6 – 6:30.  Now, I have to make up those hours during the rest of the week.  That means I can’t get out of work on time for some of the other open mics.  That sucks, I want to keep on going.  Keep the momentum going.

But babysitting him also struck a reality in me.  This is what having a kid would be like.  My nephew likes spending time with me and wonders why I can’t come over more often.  I feel bad that I can’t either.  Will I still be able to drag my ass to the City for comedy with my own baby waiting for me at home?  I don’t know.  When it comes to my baby, I don’t know what to expect.  What I think would happen may be completely different from what will happen.

It’s a boy, by the way.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Babysitting”

  1. Jay Says:

    does this mean sebastian won’t be going to an open mic tomorrow night? jayshawn was looking forward to that.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    This just means you need to move to nyc… work on it!

  3. Marty Says:

    I think this just means you need to raise your baby in NYC. Get on it!

Leave a comment