Archive for December 13th, 2011

Open Mic 030 & 031: Don’t Be Late!

December 13, 2011

I wasn’t sure about my availibility tonight but once again, due to my wife’s friend coming over, I got to go do comedy again.  This time, I did 2 shows, but both times, I was second to last.

First show was at Broadway Comedy Club, and I was 35 minutes late.  My material didn’t get a good reaction, but I did have a heckler.  A couple of comics before me was asked by someone in the audience if he can come heckle.  The comic said sure, and the heckler stayed for the remainder of the night.  He started heckling me, and I hit my line of the night: “don’t they have open mics for hecklers?”  The crowd, or at least what was left of it, with less than 10 in the audience, liked that one.  I don’t know why he was doing this, but he wasn’t doing it to be mean.  And if I ever go pro and get a real heckler, I now have a line to use against him.

I decided to go to 1-Republik for the second open mic of the night even though I was going to be late.  I was about 20 minutes late and once again, I was second to last.  And I did not fare well at all.  I didn’t bring my notepad, and when I don’t get any laughs, I kind of get nervous and forget what I was going to say.  So both sets were pretty bad, and had I known this was going to happen, I would have just gone home.  But I know I can’t think like that.  Good or bad, I have to build up experience and although one open mic’s impact on my skills is miniscule, they do add up.  All good things require this type of dedication where results aren’t seen instantly, like studying or working out.

I also saw E-Mail here again tonight.  He stuck around to the end of the show, but he left without saying hi.  What da heck?  Did he meet another comic?  He gave me his number and now he ignores me?  Typical comic!

This will be it for this week, and my next shows will be either Monday or Tuesday.