Archive for January 9th, 2011

Funny Thing About Body Weight

January 9, 2011

This weekend brought my first switch-up of the P90X schedule.  As I mentioned yesterday, I switched Day 7 with Day 8.  Day 7 is X Stretch and Day 8 is Chest & Back.  Day 8 is actually the same as Day 1 because the schedule repeats for the first 3 weeks.  So I’m supposed to do Chest & Back on the same day for the first 3 days, but I did not.  I considered moving everything up by one day by skipping Day 7’s or X Stretch, but that did not happen.  Due to time constraints, Saturday became the first day of 2011 that I did not work out.  It was a good thing I moved up that day’s workout to Friday, so that I’m still on track.

Today was Plyometrics X, which is basically one hour of bending and jumping.  It is not easy, but I gave it my all.  That is, I tried to give it my all.  I’ve noticed that my legs are weaker than my lungs or heart because most of the time, the reason I stop early on exercises is because my legs get tired.  Well, I guess I will get better at this as I get more fit.  It’s Week 2 now, so I gotta push myself more and more.

But the weight loss thing has not quite been happening.  My normal weight recently has been in the 178-183 range.  But during the month of December, I did not really weigh myself, and on January 1 (my “before” weight), I was about 186.  186!  It is my highest weight on record.  During the first few days, I went down to 182.  But then on Friday, I went back up to 185, although I continued to eat well and exercise.  Well, on Saturday, I had Korean BBQ for lunch, then a cake for dessert, Indian kati rolls for dinner, and about 4 beers.  Result?  Weight down to 182 point something.  What the heck?  Should that be my diet?  I wouldn’t mind that at all.  I guess that’s the funny thing about body weight.  I just gotta keep doing what I’m doing and hopefully, the weight will go down.  My first target is 170.