Archive for January 20th, 2011

Mistiming Sleep

January 20, 2011

Sleep has always been an issue for me.  I think one of the hardest jobs my mom had was waking me up every morning for school.  In college, I missed my fair share of 8:10 am classes.  For my first job out of college, I woke up literally the last possible second I could, going from bed to the car within minutes.

But I guess even a lazy bum like me can grow up because somehow, I wake myself up now, and on time (mostly).  I also developed a habit of always taking a shower before leaving the house.  (I even showered the day I overslept for the actuarial exam last November – I remember thing “what am I doing?  I am late for my exam, I should not be in the shower right now.”)

However, this does not mean I’ve conquered sleep, because my sleeping pattern still leaves a lot to be desired.  First problem is that I routinely fall asleep at 1 am, and wake up at 7:10 am.  With that only being 6 hours (sometimes I get less than 6 hours), I make up for it by sleeping on the bus, and sometimes I find myself really sleepy at work.

Yesterday, I was determined to hit the sack early.  I got home at 8 pm, and did P90X until 9:30 pm.  I took a shower and got ready for bed, landing my butt on the mattress by 10 pm.  No dinner, as eating could delay my sleep.  Couldn’t completely break old habits though, as I surfed the Internet until 10:30.  From 10:30 to 2 am, I could not sleep.  It was torture.  Well, it wasn’t really torture, but I was getting really annoyed.  I could have watched “Titanic” in the time I was trying to fall asleep.  I got sick of trying to keep my eyes closed, and I was also hungry, so I gave up, eating some bean sprout soup with rice, and then an ice cream.  I ended up falling asleep at 3:30, and luckily, I got myself up at 6:30.  I really wanted to wake up by 5 because I have a lot of work to do, but 6:30 is still earlier than my usual wake up time, so it wasn’t all bad.

I know, I know, I break several rules of getting a good night’s sleep.  I don’t go to sleep at the same time every night, as I sleep later on weekends.  I stare at a screen right before bed.  But I think I’ll first work on changing my sleep cycle.  I will try again tonight.

I hate the act of trying to fall asleep, though.  Such a waste of time…